Rand Is Like the Chicken Pox

Ayn Rand, the first libertarian hipster.

Ayn Rand, the first libertarian hipster.

Via an Ezra Klein tweet I stumbled accross this blog, which after briefly reading its two first posts, seems pretty good. Anyway, I really liked this:

A second topic of conversation last night allowed me to shoehorn in my pet theory about Ayn Rand: her works are like the chicken pox; it’s important to succumb and recover early enough in life that you can go on to lead a healthy and productive adulthood. If you’re exposed too late, however, there’s a nasty tendency for the disease to stick, ravage the mental faculties, and return in chronic waves. Sometimes, The Talented Videographer chides me for this quasi-elitist dismissiveness of a writer who remains so well-liked by so many. To which I respond: READ THE ABOVE.

So true.

Leave a comment