More on FB

So in reacting to “Hutna’s” comment on my post about facebook, I wanted to clear up my personal feelings on the matter. First, I don’t like the redesign. Twitter is Twitter and facebook is facebook, and they have different purposes. I don’t need them, nor do I want them to assume the same purpose. My point was that it seems there’s a small cohort of young people who have a fairly different perspective on social media than everyone else.

I wasn’t trying to argue that you should like the redesign or that facebook didn’t make a mistake (they might have, but I doubt it), but that moving in the direction of “more sharing” and interconnectivity (think Google) is basically the internet’s m’etier, and facebook’s redesign seems mostly consistent with that. As such, I think a large chunk of facebook users won’t have a problem with the redesign because for them, exclusivity was never the point of facebook. They didn’t join when it was available only to college students, they joined to get in touch with former classmates, family, friends, coworkers, etc. As facebook grows, this segment of the facebook population will grow as well. If the disaffected “exclusivists” — a shrinking minority, I’d guess — move away from facebook and toward more niche sites (Late Night Shots regrettably comes to mind), facebook, and indeed, the rest of social media will carry on just fine without them.

4 Responses to “More on FB”

  1. truevcu Says:

    My only real annoyances with the redesign are that, thanks to the increased photo size, the newsfeed actually now displays LESS information at a glance, and for some reason my current status can no longer be viewed from the home page. Other than that I’ve gotten used to it, though I still have an old man feeling that twitter is the work of the devil.

    Not that matters, as FB is and wil forever be a largely benevolent tyranny.

  2. Adam Says:

    Speaking from experience, it’s impossible to do a site redesign without users bitching. But guess what, they get use to it… and even learn to like it.

  3. k Says:

    Splendid use of metier, you prolix pedant.

  4. mike Says:

    Search facebook for anti-facebook-redesign groups. There are dozens of them, and they crop up after every change. Then eventually, much like lottery winners, users get used to it and life goes back to being exactly how it was.

    Facebook is trying to make truevcu’s parting words, uh, true. Theyre trying to have a longer period of “internet relevance” than their predecessors like myspace and geocities.

    And to Jon’s point, we can all defect and they won’t much give a crap … but nor will they ever be worth as much as they were two years ago. I said it then and I’ll say it again now … the day your company is valued at 100x your annual revenue, sell, sell, sell.


Leave a Reply

