Randomest Word EVAR

Ok. There are probably more random, but this one has to be up there.

de·fen·es·trate

(dē-fěn’ĭ-strāt’)  Pronunciation Key

tr.v.

de·fen·es·trat·ed, de·fen·es·trat·ing, de·fen·es·trates

To throw out of a window.

Posted in Random. 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “Randomest Word EVAR”

  1. Keg Condom Says:

    Not so random–fenetre is french for window. I’ve been enjoying the posts broski. Keep up the good work.

  2. Shane Says:

    I always liked this word. This was done in central europe. Fenstre being windown in French and I believe Latin as well.

  3. mike Says:

    Finestra is an Italian form, and the Latin is of course similar (English is the outlier with “window,” wherever the fuck they got that)…

    But I think the point Jon wanted to make was, “why do we need a specific word to mean “to throw out of a window?” We don’t have one for throwing out of other specific portals. Either way, there’s application for this word in Rush Hour 4 somewhere.

  4. Jon Says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Keg Condom (I know who you really are!).

    But yes, my interest was basically as Mike pointed out, though I do have to admit I had no idea “fenestre” meant window. To me it just looks an English word spelled incorrectly.

    Anyway, why can one not deportagerated?

  5. Shane Says:

    yeah I get your point.

    My favourite random word was always schadenfreude which seems to have started to get used in English speaking areas over the last few years.


Leave a Reply

