Missing the Point 101

This quote comes from the Post story I linked to collecting global reactions to Obama’s win, but I sort of thought it should have it’s own post.

“Obama is half white, half black, so the progress in the U.S. is not that big,” said Hu Jing, 25, a [Chinese] paralegal. “It will take dozens of years to elect a person who is 100 percent black.”

I took Chinese in high school, and I still remember my teacher explaining to me how the Chinese had classified the words used in poetry by type (beautiful, sad, etc.) so as to create a metric for the art. I’ll leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

